Thursday, February 5, 2009
SPIT In Our Everyday Lives
The word spit has an extremly gross connotation, especially when you think about it for a while. Your spit is in your mouth, mixed with mucus, food, and who knows what else. But why is it so much more disgusting than saliva, which is literally the exact same thing? In class this week, we did an experiment with Lindsey's spit. When she "hacked a lugee" into a spoon and showed the class, everyone was extremly grossed out - naturally. But we were even more grossed out when we were asked to TRY some, aka drink the spit. Any 'normal' human would probably think this was a wierd thing to ask and say no right away.. but why? As people, we've grown up learning how to do certian things: how to act, what to say, what to think, and what to do (or not do). In this case, we've learned that spit is disgusting, especially in a spoon, and you would never want to take a sip of someone else's spit. Its just not RIGHT. But, then we get to the fact that people kiss all the time and that is an exchange of saliva. Granted, we dont think of it that way, but its true. So, isnt it a little wierd that we will gladly exchange saliva when it IS saliva (inside your mouth) with someone we are attracted to, but we would NEVER exchange SPIT (outside your mouth) when asked to. Another wierd part of it is, spit is used everyday for random things you would never imagine it. The other day, as i was putting on my makeup in the morning, I got a little on my face. I simply licked my finger and rubbed it off using my spit. This is not a wierd gesture, but still, I'm using my spit to clean my face. Also, if you watch a basketball player or other athletes who use hard floors and gym shoes, they sometimes lick their hands and then rub it on the bottem of their shoes to create fricken so they don't slip. Once again, not a wierd thing to do, but still using something we are totally against. So why is spit so negatively looked upon? I wonder if the way we see things like this will ever change.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I think that this is so true! I really feel that people see things the way that they've been taught by society, even though it really doesn't make sense all the time. I'd like to think that at some point people's assumptions will change about how people see things in the world, even things as small as the connotation of 'spit'. This was a really well-written post, Jor!
ReplyDelete