Thursday, January 29, 2009
Silence..
To me, silence is one of the most awkward situtions a person can get put into. Theres obviously a difference between the type of silence when you are listening to a speaker, watching a movie, ect., and the type when one is forced to be silent. I think that when someone forces me, or the people I'm with to be silent, it is very uncomfortable, nervewrecking and more difficult to be quiet. On the first day of class, when Mrs Wood was sitting quietly, no one knew what to do. Granted, she didnt really know exactly WHAT she was doing, but for the few minutes she did, everyone was looking around, totally confused, and feeling out of place. I think talking in a large group is entertaining, and being the personable type I am, I enjoy it much more than being quiet. I also feel that when one is forced to be quiet, it is much harder to do so, and therefore the silence is easily broken. For example, when we did the activity with Mrs Wood, people would giggle, which is defeating the purpose of the experiment. I'd much rather be carrying on a conversation with someone I have never met before, than being silent and awkward with even my best friends.
Tuesday, January 27, 2009
Who am I?
Hi guys! I'm Jorie and I am a junior (one of the four in Sal's first period class). I wanted to take sociology as a junior because I was really interested in the class, but I knew I wouldn't have time during my senior year. One of the reasons I know I won't have time is because I am a Varsity Cheerleader. Our season is 10 months out of the year, so I'm very busy all the time. I've been on varsity since I was a freshman and its really shaped the person I've become in high school. Before high school I was on an allstar cheerleading team, which was SO different from high school cheer. I was torn when I had to choose between allstar and high school, but I couldn't be more happy on Stevenson Cheer. Since freshman year I've made inseparable bonds with the girls on my team, and they have become some of my best friends. As hard and time consuming as it is, I wouldn't want to have it any other way -- I can't imagine my life without it.
After high school I'm planning on going to college (not sure where yet), and hopefully cheering, depending on where I go. I'm not positive on what I want to do after that, but I'm thinking about going into some kind of journalism, or maybe even being a teacher. Whatever I do, I want to wake up every day and enjoy doing it.
I'm a very outgoing person, and will make friends with anyone.. some of my friends even make fun of me for it :) I think I get that personality from my mom. She is always happy and looking on the bright side of things and it inspires me to be positive in anything and everything I do. One thing she always tells me is that if you're going to do something, you might as well do it 110% and enjoy doing it. I basically live by that - I think that every day you should be happy, and if you're not, something needs to change (even though obviously nothing is perfect). I hope that I can live my whole life this way. Anyway, this is my first time ever blogging and im really excited to try it out.. so enjoy :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)